What is "Competitive fair"?

The Japan Pearl Promotion Society, in cooperation with the National Federation of Pearl Cultivators Cooperative Association, holds an annual competitive fair. There are two divisions, the "Hama-Age Division" and the "Hanadama Division," in which the pearl farmers under the umbrella of the Japan Pearl Promotion Society bring their prized pearls to be judged. The "Hama-Age Division" has been held since 1977, and the "Hanadama Division" since 2004.

What is the "Hama-Age Division"?

100 Akoya pearls are brought to the auction and judged from various perspectives, including the quality and merchantability of the pearls harvested. The pearls are removed from the shells in the presence of the association to ensure that there are no irregularities and are then exhibited as they are. The prize winners are awarded for being the best pearl producers of the year, which is a very proud award for the pearl farmers.

What is the "Hanadama Division"?

After being harvested from the seas each pearl farmer selects about 2 Monme of pearls that they consider to be the best of the year to be entered in this category. The criteria for judging are all the elements that constitute pearl quality, such as "Nacre thickness," "Luster," "Blemish," "Color," "Shape," etc., and the best pearl of the year in Japan is selected. The "Hanadama" is not related to the " Hanadama identification," but rather is a "special beautiful pearl that shines among the harvested pearls" in the original meaning.

About "Rankings"

In each category, 1st place: Minister of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries Award 2nd 3rd place: Director General of Fisheries Agency Award 4th to 8th place: Prize winners.

What is a "keshi"?

A keshi is a small pearl without a nucleus, which is a byproduct of aquaculture, whether natural or cultured. The pearls on display are accidentally harvested separately from the nucleated pearls intended for cultivation at the time of harvesting.